VQ30DET Forums

Forms for all those Vq Turbo projects
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:55 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: VQ into GTX Skyline
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:20 pm 

Hi there. I am totally new to the VQ motor. I bought I VQ30det with 350Z manual gearbox to put it into my 1984 GTX Skyline. I feel like I am totally out of my depth with this motor. The one I got is stripped and I have no idea where to begin. Like how does the trimming work? How do I run an aftermarket computer....... The list go on. Here is a picture of my car.

Any advise on the workings of the engine is more than welcome. Oh, it will be twin turbo'd. :D :D :D :D

Post subject: Re: VQ into GTX Skyline
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:49 pm 

Welcome to the forums mate, that is a sweet looking skyline 8-)

1.- How stripped is the motor, is it in peices or do you mean all the loom and hoses etc. are off? do you have a picture?
2.- Is the gearbox already mated to the motor with a working clutch or are they seperate and you have to get a clutch?
3.- Do you have an engine loom and ECU? is the motor Y33 or Y34 model VQ30DET?

Sorry for all the questions straight up, but I would like to know so I can begin to help you ;)

If you have the factory ECU you could have a tunable NISTUNE board installed in it, mine runs on one... it's a lot cheaper option than stand alone engine managment as there are no other "plug and play" ECU's for this motor.
Some people have had success running stand alone haltec or link engine managment systems... but you would have to wire it up completely custom :?

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:59 am